Mr. Charles N. Kahuthu, Regional Coordinator and CEO - EACCIA 

The East African Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture (EACCIA) is an organization which was established and owned by the three national chambers, namely, the Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KNCCI), the Uganda National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (UNCCI) and Tanzania Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture (TCCIA). EACCIA has its origins in the Association of the East African Chambers of Commerce, which was formed in 2003, through the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that spelt out potential areas of cooperation that aimed at increasing cross border trade, in light of the EAC regional integration process.
EACCIA was registered in 2005 under the Companies Act of the Republic of Kenya. Its headquarters were initially housed at the Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s Ufanisi House, in Nairobi. However, it was agreed that, its Headquarters of the EACCIA should move to Arusha, Tanzania.

Broadly speaking, its main objective is to lobby the regional governments for the creation of a conducive business environment for cross border trade and investment within the context of the East African Customs Union and Common Market Protocol. It is expected to dialogue with various organs of the East African Community, national, as well as international institutions, impacting on business to facilitate this. Apart from its advocacy role, the EACCIA is also expected to undertake some development projects on behalf of its constituent Chambers. 

 Upon incorporation, the Board of the EACCIA comprised the Presidents of constituent Chambers and at least two other elected officials from each Chamber. The Chief Executives of constituent Chambers were ex-official members of the Board.  The Chairmanship of the Board rotated among the Presidents of the regional chambers on an annual basis. The current Board comprises of two representatives from constituency chambers, including Burundi and Rwanda and theEACCIA Chief Executive Officer who is the Secretary to the Board. The CEOs of the various chambers sit at the Board as ex-official members.